Interview: K. Victoria Chase

orig_41406_020gt

Tell us about yourself.

I’m a former law enforcement officer turned nighttime novelist(with a day job). I used to write fiction as a kid and when I finally finished a complete novel about four years ago, I fell in love with the process and wanted to continue. Self-publishing is a dream come true for budding entrepreneurs and control freaks, er, “closet leaders” like myself, and I’ve self-published four works. Movies are a passion of mine, as well as countless TV shows, and they fuel ideas for my stories. I also love incorporating police work into the suspense novels I write. I write interracial romance with a bit of faith weaved in.

Share a bit about your latest book or what you’re currently working on.
I’m polishing a short contemporary romance for Thanksgiving! A Thankful Love is the first in a series about the Richards family featuring divorced, single mom Maya. About ten years ago, she ignored the wise advice of her parents and eloped with a loser and now she’s out to prove she’s mature and has learned her lesson. To help her is the guy she refused all those years ago–Jake Rivers.

Do you write other genres? If so, what are they?

I recently released a paranormal novella, The Dolls’ House(The Collegiate Clairs). It’s the first in the series about five college-aged students who use their unique psychic abilities to solve cold case files as part of their criminal justice internship.


Do you write series, standalones, or both? If you write both, which is your most favorite to write?

I write both! The Santiago Brothers(Rafael, Alejandro) series features books that are more stand-alone with very little cross-over due to each hero having their own story. The Collegiate Clairs series is a “true” series where the story is told over a few books. Finally, I have one stand-alone, From Across the Divide, which is geared to the Christian market. I like writing them all! I’m really enjoying writing shorter works because of the satisfaction I get when I’ve completed a work in a short period of time. Yes, I’m impatient, lol.

What is the most important thing you’ve learned from your writing?

Prose can always be written better the year after it’s published. LOL. I think the most important thing I’ve learned, and the most challenging aspect of writing, is there are layers of how to “show” what you want the readers to see and it depends heavily on the character’s POV because of differing perceptions. I know what I see in my head, but translating that to the page, through various POVs, and colored by motivation and conflict–it’s fascinating to flesh all of this out when understanding it comes second nature as I’m watching a movie, for example.

thankful_love_500x750

 Are you trade published, self-published, or hybrid?

I’m currently a hybrid but come Dec 1st, I’ll have the rights to all of my titles. Two are held by an epublishers and the rest are self-published. I was using epublishers when I realized that what they do (editing, cover art, etc) I could do on my own with the assistance of freelance editors and artists. Why not go direct to the professionals, set my own release schedule, AND keep all the profits?

What can readers expect from you next?

Thankful Love will be released on November 25th (or earlier–keep your eyes peeled!) and in December, look for Joan Richards’ story.

Thank you for having me!!!

A Thankful Love: http://www.amazon.com/dp/BooGUZH3OK/

Leave a comment